Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile Web Site Home
Phorum
This Site is Unauthorized by Farmers Insurance Group. By accessing this site you are agreeing to the Rules/Terms

Advanced

Denied and Treated Poorly

Posted by clynnrn 
Denied and Treated Poorly
March 06, 2013 11:02AM
I was stopped at a red light when I was rear ended by a retired/disabled police officer who was a Farmer's policy holder. The impact was low velocity, but still jarring. My car, brand new Mercedes Benz, sustained minimal damage to the rear bumper. I immediately called (within 15 minutes of the accident) and filed a claim with Farmer's and explained that I was experiencing some soreness in my neck, back and right shoulder. I am a nurse with 10 years of Level One Trauma experience. I sought medical attention with my GP for soreness and was given a muscle relaxer and a note advising my employer for me not to return to work in fear that I would complicate my soft tissue injury. I sought the treatment of a chiropractor when I began experiencing muscle spasms around T-12 that left me immobile for hours. I provided a recorded statement to the assigned adjuster who told me that a settlement would depend on the extent of the monetary damage to my car. Immediately that did not sound right to me. How could they base a injury claim on damage to my car? I drove a brand new luxury vehicle that rated in the top tier in safety and rear impact. Using my medical contacts and access to medical journals I began to research low velocity impact and soft tissue damage. There is a strong correlation that states that soft tissue damage can occur at low velocity impact collisions at less than 5 miles per hour.